Biz X Was There – 2018 WESPY Awards

2018 WESPY Awards

Biz X Was There – 2018 WESPY Awards

The following are last night’s winners.

Female Swimming – Maddie McDonald – Windsor Aquatic Club / Walkerville S.S.

Male Swimming – Ethan Fazekas – Windsor Aquatic Club

Female Legacy Award – Marilyn Holland

Male Legacy Award – Eddie Chittaro

Female Soccer – Melanie Jubenville – St Clair College

Male Soccer – Jamar Kelly – Windsor TFC

Ken Dryden Executive of the Year Award – John Savage – Memorial Cup Committee/Windsor Spitfires

Tim Hommel Female Volleyball Award – Caylee Parker

Tim Hommel Male Volleyball Award- John Moate

Female Volunteer of the Year – Melanie Cardinal– Sandwich S.S.

Male Volunteer of the Year – (it was a tie)

Egidio Mosca – Caboto Club Soccer

Jim Morgan – Windsor Clippers

John Ferguson Circle of Seven – Horseman of the Year – Lindsey Kerr

Female Basketball – Emily Prevost – Windsor Lancers

Male Basketball – Maurice Jones – Windsor Express

Mickey Renaud Captain’s Leadership Award – Amanda Simke

Gino Fracas Football Award – Brandon Reaume

Female Golf – Jasmine Ly

Male Golf – James Hill

Parasport Athletes – Matthew Debly – Wheelchair Rugby Canada

Female Wrestling – Brooke Fletcher– Tecumseh Vista Academy / Windsor Wrestling

Male Wrestling – Alex Dufour – L’Essor H.S. /L’Essor Wrestling Club

Female Softball – Lauryn DeBono – Windsor Wildcats

Male Baseball – Kyle Breitner– St Clair College/Tecumseh Thunder Sr’s.

Ed Jovanovski Award

Female Hockey- Krystin Lawrence– Windsor Lancers

Male Hockey – Michael DiPietro– Windsor Spitfires

Dennis Fairall Award

Female Track & Field – Karlie Moore – Sandwich S.S.

Male Track & Field – Corey Bellemore– Windsor Lancers

The John Denapoli Sports Community Service Award – Rob McIntyre

Courage and Determination Award – Bob Daragon

Gymnastics – Lindsay Chia – Rose City Gymnastics

Joel Quenneville – Coach of the Years Award – Rocky Thompson – Windsor Spitfires

Female Athlete of the Year – Karlie Moore – Sandwich S.S. /Border City Athletics Club

Male Athlete of the Year – (tie)

Andrew Garant– Windsor Clippers Lacrosse

Lionel Sanders– Tri-athlete/ Ironman Competitor

Team of the Year – Holy Names High School Football

To learn more about the 2018 WESPY Awards please visit online.

Photos by Rod Denis – Biz X magazine

Facebook Comments

Previous ArticleNext Article
Rodney L. Denis
A professional photographer for over 30 years, Rod Denis has shot everything from fashion models and commercial products to food and automobiles. Denis is a graduate of the photography program at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario and has worked in major centres such as Toronto, Halifax and Detroit. Since 1991 he has operated Rodney L. Denis Photography shooting commercial projects for corporate brochures, catalogues, calendars and the web. Rod has been taking photos for Biz X magazine since day one. Be sure to watch for him at area events and business functions.