Call for Tech Awards Nominations


WEtech Alliance in Conjunction with TekSavvy Issue Call for Tech Awards Nominations

The 2021 edition of the WEtech Alliance Tech Awards, presented by TekSavvy, are now accepting nominations from people and companies at the forefront of innovation that have allowed us to remain connected in a time of crisis.

“The pandemic has shown us how just how vulnerable we are without technology—and how instrumental it is in keeping us working, learning, entertained, informed, and healthy. This year’s Tech Awards are extra special in that we get to celebrate another group of COVID-19 heroes.” – Yvonne Pilon

The Awards, part of Tech Week, celebrate technology innovators at all stages for their achievements and success, all while raising the profile of the Windsor-Essex and Chatham-Kent tech community. 

The Tech Awards, although delayed due to COVID-19, consist of the same awards program as previous years, alongside a new category – the Tech COVID-19 Innovation Award. We are also happy to welcome with TekSavvy as our new presenting sponsor.

“TekSavvy is excited to be working with WEtech to help identify and support tech entrepreneurs in the Windsor-Essex and Chatham-Kent areas,” says Jean Lamoureux, Vice President, Business and Wholesale Markets at TekSavvy. “As global events are making it necessary for businesses everywhere to embrace digital transformation, the need for digital innovation to encourage and simplify this shift has never been greater” added Lamoureux.

Companies eligible for the awards include organizations of all stages and sectors, including: Advanced Manufacturing and Autotech, Digital Media & IT, Telecommunications, Medtech, Agritech and Cleantech. 
Categories for the Tech Awards include: 

  • Tech COVID-19 Innovation Award
  • Tech CEO of the Year
  • Tech Mentor of the Year
  • Tech Teacher of the Year 
  • Technology Adoption Award
  • Tech Startup of the Year 
  • Tech Company of the Year
  • Tech Researcher of the Year
  • Woman In Tech of the Year 
  • Tech Student / Young Professional of the Year
  • #OMGRobot FIRST Robotics Award   

Last year’s recipients included Frank Abbruzzese, HALIGHT Inc. and Elizabeth Moses.

All finalists will take part in a public voting social media campaign across Facebook, with winners of the Tech Awards appearing in videos produced by Media Street Productions. Each will receive a one-of-a-kind award created by local artist, Todd Lindsay. 
Nominations for the Tech Awards are open until January 26th, 2021. Winners will be announced during Tech Week, which will take place virtually from March 22-28, 2021. 

Facebook Comments

Previous ArticleNext Article