Education, This Just In! - News

Mary Jo Haddad to be First Female Chancellor at U of W


Mary Jo Haddad to be Installed as First Female Chancellor of the University of Windsor

Windsor native Mary Jo Haddad (CM, LLD, MHSC, BSCN), former president and CEO of the Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids), and recipient of a 2005 honorary Doctor of Laws degree from the University of Windsor, will be installed as the eighth Chancellor of the University of Windsor during the 10 a.m., Tuesday, May 28, session of Convocation.

Dr. Haddad, who is well known for her innovative leadership and commitment to children’s health in both Canada and internationally, has served as a corporate director and President of MJH & Associates, providing strategic leadership and healthcare advisory services since her 2014 retirement from SickKids.

She serves as a member of the Board of Directors of TD Bank Group and TELUS, where she is Chair of the Human Resources and Compensation Committee. She continues to volunteer her time as an advocate for children and youth as Chair of the Board of Children First Canada, and is a member of the capital campaign for SickKids.

Dr. Haddad has also held Board appointments as Founding Chair, MaRS Innovation; Chair, Provincial (Ontario) Council for Maternal Child Health; Director at the Vector Institute; Director of Kids Health Links Foundation and Trustee (Ex-Officio) SickKids; and Director, SickKids Foundation Board.

She was appointed a Member of the Order of Canada in 2010 and received the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal in 2012. She is a recipient of the Premier’s Award for Outstanding Achievement.

As Chancellor, Dr. Haddad will serve as the titular head of the University and confer all degrees and diplomas on behalf of the Senate. The Chancellor also represents the University in an official capacity at external functions.

Dr. Haddad’s appointment follows the announcement this past August that the Honourable Ed Lumley would be stepping down as Chancellor. Following his appointment in 2006 Lumley worked tirelessly to promote the University and conferred degrees on nearly 55,000 graduates — 40 per cent of the University’s 136,000 alumni.

Nearly 3,900 graduands will receive degrees during eight sessions of Convocation – two sessions daily at 10 a.m. and 3 p.m. from May 28 to May 31 in the St. Denis Centre.

The University will also award honorary degrees to six individuals who have made outstanding contributions to politics, science, business, the arts, law, and public service.

Receiving honorary degrees are:

  • The Hon. Edward C. Lumley (PC, CM, LLD, BCOMM ‘61), outgoing University of Windsor Chancellor, former MP and Cabinet Minister, entrepreneur, and former Vice-Chair of BMO Nesbitt Burns
  • Dr. Datta Pillay, biology researcher, community booster, and professor emeritus
  • Dr. Sherry Cooper, renowned economist, writer
  • Tom McCamus (BA ’07), award-winning Canadian actor
  • Maureen Jensen, Chair and CEO of the Ontario Securities Commission
  • Agnes Di Leonardi (CM, LLB’86), General Counsel, Sym-Tech Dealer Services, women’s leadership advocate.

Facebook Comments