Deborah Jones, This Just In! - News

W.E. Are The Champions

The Odette School of Business MBA Program recently recognized eight exemplary “Community Champions”. In attendance for the ceremony from left were: Jim Cheetham, Lisa Tayfour, Sam Sinjari and Donna Wellington. Absent were: Fo Abiad, Camille Cecchin, Irene Moore Davis and Chris Lori. Photo by Rod Denis.

W.E. Are The Champions

“We are the champions, my friends; And we’ll keep on fighting ’til the end.”

This famous Queen song is a great way to describe the business community of Windsor Essex! We never give up, despite constant challenges and always strive to be the best we can be.

Many area organizations short form the word WE for Windsor Essex, which is one of the reasons why I also link this song to our region. In fact, it is the music we played during our gala when the winner of the 2019 Biz X Award for “Distinguished Biz Champ Of The Year” walked up on stage to receive their plaque.

There were 18 nominees in this category with RFG Plumbing and RFG Electrical being chosen the overall winner. This award category clearly showed how many hard working companies there are in our distribution area. Due to this fact, we have now made this an annual category for our awards program.

Since my topic now relates to champions (an inspiring and positive way to start off our first issue of the year), now is the perfect opportunity to mention even more local champions.

Dr. Martha Reavley, Professor of Management at the Odette School of Business and its MBA Cohort of 2021, hosted the 11th annual “Community Champions” event at the University of Windsor on December 6, 2019, recognizing the contributions of eight members of the Windsor Essex community. Although these incredible leaders come from different backgrounds, industries, and careers, they have made great strides in creating positive changes in the Windsor Essex community.

This year’s “Community Champions” include . . .

  • Fo Abiad, Owner of Wintex Safety, Northstar Safety, FA Investments, Universal Health Products and Transition to Betterness Chair of the Board
  • Camille Cecchin, Community Philanthropist, W.E. Care for Kids Foundation
  • Jim Cheetham, Local Philanthropist, Owner of multiple Tim Hortons locations
  • Irene Moore Davis, Historian, Author, Artist, and Community Leader
  • Chris Lori, Destiny Rescue, Foreign Exchange Trader
  • Sam Sinjari, CFO, Local Philanthropist
  • Lisa Tayfour, Community Philanthropist, House of Sophrosyne
  • Donna Wellington, VP Henry Ford Hospital, Leader in Healthcare

In closing I leave you with more e lyrics from the Queen song: “We are the champions; We are the champions; No time for losers, ’Cause we are the champions of the world!”

May 2020 be your year of success. Happy New Year!

Facebook Comments